18 years old and worried

Hello Everyone, I am 18 with no current plan to go college. I have been researching part 141 schools for about 8 months and the only thing holding me back is that I am 18 and if I do a fast track school will I still be able to go into airline cadet programs. Ideally I would love to go to ATP for the frontier program. Does anyone know if these programs are a possibility if I graduate the school at 19…??

Malcolm,

As much as we love your enthusiasm to jump in to the program so soon, we recommend you go to college first. You will be severely limited in your career potential without that degree.

If going to college isn’t financially feasible, you need to at least have two years of work experience to satisfy the program admission requirements. The program is highly accelerated and high school is not typically enough to prepare a candidate to be successful.

Your age is also a limiting factor because you can’t get a R-ATP until you are at least 21. So two years of work experience or working towards your associates would help you satisfy the admission requirements while also setting you up to start the program at 20. Then you would be hitting ATP mins at 22 years old.

Hannah

1 Like

Malcolm,

Your statement “no current plan to go to college” speaks volumes and also validates the reason ATP has a work/education prerequisite. You don’t mention any flight experience so I’ll assume you have none (and no, sitting in the back going on vacation doesn’t count). You’re basically saying you want to put all your eggs in one basket with the hopes of a cadet or flow.