35… too old to make the jump?

Hello everyone,

So I have been pondering this idea for about 3 years now (probably should’ve jumped on it then, but I digress)… I am 35 years old and live smack dab in between TTN and PHL. I’ve had the opportunity to work in two different careers, and most recently being in law enforcement. With that being said - I do NOT have a college degree.

Is this doable or even smart at my age, with a mortgage - in this economy? Would airlines even want to touch a guy who may be 37 or 38 by the time he has his hours? Sidebar: Please correct me if I am underestimating that time frame.

Any opinions and guidance are greatly appreciated.

Gus

Gus,

This is by far our most frequently asked question. Short answer is you’re no where near being to old but you will want to get a degree at some point or you’re career prospects could be limited as the Majors desire one.

For more details visit our FAQ section or any of the 637,252 threads on the subject.

Adam

Adam

1 Like

Gus,

Please check out the FAQ section as both of these questions are addressed in depth there. The short answer is yes, you still have the potential for a great career in aviation, but you need to get the ball rolling ASAP.

Chris

1 Like

Gus,

First off, thank you for your service!

I have seen individuals start older than you, you are by no means “too old,” but the clock is ticking. Every day you aren’t in training and building experience is seniority and chance to build your dream into a reality.

Do know that PNE is also opening a location soon, it was recently announced on social media. This may be an option if TTN is further from you. I would suggest reaching out to Admissions and scheduling an Admissions Flight/Training Center Tour of TTN and get firsthand experience of ATP, 904-595-7950! Fun fact, I graduated from TTN’s location and instructed there as a primary and lead instructor from 2021-2022.

Brady