35y/o Starting Training

Hello everyone,

My name is Kevin and I am currently a Project Engineer in Heavy Civil construction. I wanted to start this thread in hopes to help prospective students, in similar circumstances, to make the “leap” to pursue flight training. I also wanted to document my progress through the program.

To give some background about myself, I am 35 years old and I am planning on starting training with ATP in April 2023 at the San Antonio location. I have a wife and 3 y/o as well as a mortgage. As you can imagine I struggled, like many in this forum, to make the decision to quit my job to pursue pilot training. I have had a love and passion for aviation since childhood that led me to ultimately join the Air Force but this opportunity did not lead to opportunities in aviation, but was nonetheless a great opportunity to serve and ultimately lead to me obtaining my 4-year degree in Engineering Technology. Once I had finished my degree and started working I still had the aviation bug and could not stop thinking about it. So I conducted a discovery flight at a local flight school at the time which just solidified the fact that I had a passion for aviation that I wanted to pursue. Like many, life events stalled my pursuit of these dreams but I feel like the time has come where I need to make the plunge or I will regret it for the rest of my life. I am very fortunate to have a supportive wife and family and look forward to this journey!

I am starting the studying for my written exams as I have seen that recommended multiple times throughout this forum. I will say that this forum has been very helpful and is full of great information for those of us just starting out. With that being said I appreciate everyone who has contributed with their experience and knowledge. Long post but I will keep everyone updated on my progress and journey.

Thank you,

Kevin

3 Likes

Kevin,