42 years old, starting from scratch

Aloha everyone. I’m an active duty military officer with over 20 years in service. I’m 42 years old and looking to retire in the next 4 to 6 years, and I’ve always dreamed of being a pilot.

I started my career enlisted and spent over a decade crewing helicopters. I earned a degree in professional aeronautics from ERAU, and was eventually selected to earn a commission, but I was too old to attend naval flight school.

I have a strong aviation background but would be starting my pilot career from the beginning at age 45 or so, and with a family in tow. What are realistic expectations to begin a pilot career at this age, and is it possible to train with a family and job. My goal would be to fly as a medevac or government pilot. Thanks!

Tim

Timothy,

This is a very common question and its all about managing expectations. That said if your desire is to fly medevac or some other gov flying you’re best probably fine but your best off looking at the types of gov flying you’re thinking of and checking the requirements.

It’s definitely possible to train and work but know that it will of course take you longer, cost you more and at 45 that might not be what you want to do?

I also recommend you look at our FAQ section and browse some of the dozens of threads on the subject for more discussion.

Adam

Thanks, Adam for the reply! I actually just found some pretty good threads on the subject. The good thing is that I won’t really have to work and could commit 100% to a training program; however my pension will only carry so much weight and I would need to get the most bang for my buck. Would you recommend a fast track program to the regionals at my age?

Tim

Tim,