Abel

Hello my name is Abel I’m 21 years old planning to join flight school which is ATP. My question is I’m currently a college student do you thing it’s good idea to go to ATP now then finish my college after I finish my ATP program.

Abel,

As a rule we always recommend finishing college first. Particularly in your case where you’ve already started college. If you were to stop and do your training, then after you’re done training resume college there would be a break before you started building time. Flying skills are perishable skills plus no flying job wants to see periods of inactivity.

Adam

1 Like

Thank you so much it really helps and also I have some more questions when I check ATP program they offer a loan with a sally Mae however they are asking me for a cosigner for my loan I really don’t like that I want to take the full responsibility for my loan. Do you have any experience about loan what do you think good idea to do.

And also do you think accounting is good college degree to have. I know a lot of people do advise that for some reason what do you think about this, any thoughts thank you

Abel,

If you have questions regarding financing you should call ATP and speak with Kirk. He can explain the options. Bare in mind you’re young and probably don’t have much credit history. These loans are unsecured and therfore can be challenging to obtain without a solid co-signer.

As for your degree that’s really entirely up to you. I always recommend you study something you enjoy and wouldn’t mind pursuing as a career should aviation not work out or you simply want a side gig later in life. Major airlines want a degree but don’t care what it’s in so again chose something you like.

Adam

1 Like

Thank you so much