Advice - Interested in Aviation

Hello
I have currently thought about changing career paths and have been interested in becoming a pilot. I have no knowledge of airplanes nor has anyone in my family pursued a career in aviation. I do get motion sickness but have read this can be overcome after so many hours of flying. I am nervous but I think mostly it is due to what others have told me. I have been told that I cannot just go into this career with no knowledge.
But I am very motivated when I put my mind to something, and I am very detailed oriented. I currently work 80hr work weeks just because I enjoy working. I know I won’t be able to work during the 7-month training, but I will definitely be putting all my energy into schooling.
As current pilot’s do you guys have any advice for someone who is interested in pursuing this career?

Saxja,

Welcome to the forum! You absolutely do not need any prior aviation knowledge or experience. You need to have a passion for flying, good study habits and a strong work ethic. We recommend you take an intro flight. Being prone to motion sickness is very common but can be remedied. I experienced it when I first started and got over it very quickly.

Feel free to browse the ATP website and the FAQ section here. There is a wealth of knowledge to help you get started. Let us know if you have any other questions! We’re here to help.

Hannah

1 Like

Saxja,