Advice on my situation?

Hi,
I am asking for some life advice on the pursuit of being a pilot in my particular situation. I am an equipment operator for the road and bridge department of the county I live in. I sought a career in this field as I love to operating. I had a senior operator at my work tell me not to waste my time with this career and become a pilot instead. A few weeks later I found myself doing my first discovery flight at ATP. I fell in love with flying- I felt so free but more importantly to me, it felt like I was operating on a whole ‘nother level.

I reached out to mutual friends who were pilots and decided with their advice to get my first class physical to make sure I could even pursue this as a career. I had something come up in my physical that caused it to get deferred to the FAA. Talking with my AME and others, I am guessing I will hear back on a full answer in March, and am guessing the FAA will approve me (who knows though).

About a month ago, I tore a ligament in my thumb which required surgery. I won’t be able to return to work until mid-March with this injury, unfortunately. I am assuming the same with flying planes with the fine motor skills required to operate. With this, I was wondering if I should find side work if my short term disability insurance company allows me or if I should get ahead on the written tests required to become a pilot (though I have read someone has to approve you to take them). Looking at atp’s website, maybe it is possible to do these before you start the program?