Airforce to Airline pilot

Good afternoon everyone. I am 19 years old been in the Air Force for almost a year. I signed a 4 year contract. I am an avionics technician for the f-16. My dream is to become an airline pilot but I don’t know where to start. What would be the fastest way for me to become a pilot? I have around 50 college credits from just going to technical training and I’m thinking about studying online towards a degree in aeronautical science with embry riddle since I think all those credits will transfer towards the degree. I been researching and found out that I need to pay to get my PPL but my 9/11 GI Bill can help pay towards flight training. I still have no idea what would be the best route to become a pilot for me any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

Alejandro,

Welcome to the forum.

As for the college degree side of things, yes, you will need one for the majors, but you will not need one for the regionals. Many people chose to work on their degrees while they are at the regionals. In addition to speaking with Embry Riddle, I would also consult Utah Valley University.

As for flight training, yes, you can use your GI benefits towards flight training, BUT, and this is. a huge but, it will really slow you down and will not cover a huge chunk of your flight training. I would suggest using your GI benefits towards your degree (which you will need anyways) and financing your flight training at a school that offers accelerated flight training . This is by far the quickest, most efficient path to the airlines.

Now all of the mentors on this website went to ATP and we were all successful, there are many paths to the airlines, but we chose ATP because of how quick and efficient it is, combined with a reputation for producing quality airline pilots.

I recommend taking some time to look around this forum, particularly the FAQ section. Let us know what we can help you with.

Chris

1 Like

Alejandro,