Airline piloting after retirement from current career

Hi all,

I am seeking guidance and after reading a lot of posts this seems like the place to ask. I am planning on retiring from being a police officer in 2028 after 26 years of service. I would be 51 years old and my youngest child will have graduated from HS. I have always dreamed of flying and have flown in small planes with relatives. I am interested in pursuing this as a second career after retirement because I just can’t afford the pay cut to leave earlier (2 kids will be in college :dollar: :dollar: :dollar:). I understand that after training, building time and, hopefully, as an airline pilot I would most likely only have about 10 years of flying at the regional level. I also understand that a lot can change in that time span. Since I have approximately 7 years to prepare, I would like to know what anyone would recommend I do or what steps I could start taking. Your advice is appreciated.

2 Likes

Jamison,

Sounds like you’ve done your homework, have some flying experience and realistic expectations. With that here’s my suggestion. Start your training now with ATPs Flex Track program which will allow you to continue working. When you’re done in about a year you’ll then have 6yrs to build the required 1500hrs. While I usually encourage people to fast track it, that doesn’t work in your situation, but if you can find a part time instructor gig that’s only 200hrs a year you’ll need which is pretty easy to do (you could even rent and fly yourself but instructing will make you a better pilot). At that point rather than just getting started when you retire, you can already have a Regional position lined up.

Adam

1 Like

Jamison,