Apply for Student Loan

Hello guys,

I am looking for attending the ATP, but I am just a senior student at college so that I don’t think I will be qualified for the loan either with Wells Fargo or Sallie Mae. However, I will try to apply for Sallie Mae to see how qualified I am. I don’t want to have a cosigner because I don’t like to bother people with money.

1. If I get approved, do I have to use the loan immediately because the interest will start right after the approval? Am I thinking right?
  2. If I don’ get approved, will it affect my future application with the same lender in a allowable certain amount of time (Example: I can only apply once per 6 months)?
  3. Will it be smart if I divide into smaller amounts and have couple loans instead of only 1 big loan?

I called ATP and they said that I won’t have to worry about the loan because if I even have the loan, I won’t be able to start school until I register and pay the deposit ~$950.

Thank you.

1 Like

Francis,

To be clear, the mentors on here are pilot mentors, while we can try and answer your questions the official source is the admissions counselors at ATP.

1. No, you do not have to use the money immediately and the interest does not begin to accrue until after the loan disbursement is made, so there is no rush on it. However, I would not apply until a few months prior to when you want to attend the program.

2. You will need to speak to the admissions counselors on this, I am sure there is some prohibition against frequent applications with the lenders. Also keep this in mind, if you don’t get approved the odds of getting approved six months later are rather slim unless there is a dramatic change in your circumstances.

3. I personally would rather have one loan, but that is just my thought on the matter.