ATP and school while in the regionals?

Hey all,

I’ve been working the ramp for one of the majors for a few years now and am eager to get in the cockpit. I have flown with a friend who is doing part 141 currently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Currently I am doing research into ATP and I like what I see thus far. I have financing secured, however my dilemma is not having a college degree, not even my AA. How feasible is it to knock out school while at the regionals. I am 27 so I’d like to get my seniority date as soon as possible. Any insight to a process along these lines would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Nick

Nick,

That really depends on you. I know many pilots who got their degrees while at the Regionals and many who tried and just couldn’t seem to buckle down and do it. If you have the discipline it certainly can be done but you have to put in the time and the effort.

Adam

Appreciate the quick response. In your professional opinion what would be the best way to go about gaining all the education requirements?

Nick,

There are some online aviation degree programs that will give you college credit for your licenses and ratings. If it were me I’d do some research into one of those as it could probably save you some time and money.

Adam

Copy that, thanks for the info. I’ve recently read about liberty university offering credit for flight training. Will do more research into that avenue.

https://atpflightschool.com/airline-career-pilot-program/college-credit.html

You should contact ATP directly for more information.

Nick,

Getting an online college degree while at the regionals is absolutely possible to do and in fact many before you have done it. I would recommend looking into Utah Valley University.

Chris

Requested info from them earlier today. Very intriguing. Thanks for the help!

Nick,