ATP Financing and Other Questions

I was curious if anyone else had trouble with getting a loan accepted and what I can do to get past this issue? I graduated this past Thursday with a BS in Criminal Justice and all I’ve wanted to do is fly so I’m doing what I can to get into the program. I plan on taking an intro flight in a few weeks and getting the ball rolling but I’m very nervous about getting into the program. Is there a lot of people that have issues with flying and just aren’t great at it? I think that’s what I’m worried about the most because I’d rather not spend a ton of money to find out I’m not great at it but I’m sure I can’t worry about it until I’ve begun. Also, I spoke with someone on the phone and they said the days are around 8 hours long. What does a normal day ensue? Thanks again. Hope everyone is having success in the program.

I had trouble getting approved for the full amount last year. My father was a cosigner with great credit.
My plan this year is to find a local fbo and pay for my PPL. Out of pocket. This will help get the cost lowered and a good entry to flying. I also like the idea of experiencing a different style of training too. Getting the ppl on my own lowers the loan amount over $10k which should get me close to the preapproved amount I was given last year. Hope this helps…

it does thank you! Best of luck, man.

Just to follow up in a little more detail. I found a local fbo that rents piper 140s for $100/HR and instructors for $50 hr. If you can manage to do some self training (simulators and ground school through kings or sportys) theoretically I can have my PPL for around $5k flying the minimum requirements 20hours with instructor and 20 hours solo. This doesn’t include your medical, checkride or personal supplies. I suggest going ahead and getting your class 1 medical now to ensure you’re physically fit to fly commercially before spending any money.