Real Answers from Real Pilots

ATP for foreigners

Hello, I’m a permanent resident, I came from south America, currently, I have ATP-CTP with writing test, medical certificate class 1 and I have 6000 total hours. im very confused, Do I have Atp frozen, restricted, or nothing?. I want to apply for a job, but I don’t know if I can. If somebody can help me I appreciate it.

Andres,

The question is do you currently have any FAA certificates? Based on your question I’m thinking the answer is no. The US does not have frozen ATPs age Restricted refers to hours or age. If that’s the case you’d need to convert your foreign CPL to an FAA license. With that and your time you could apply to a Regional and they would get you your ATP. The other alternative is taking a US ATP-CTP, getting a type rating and applying to a Major.

Adam

I took the ATP-CTP

Okay great, then EVERYTHING I said above without the ATP-CTP. You still must obtain your FAA Commercial Pilot License.

Adam

Adam,

Are you sure? FAR 61.153(d)(3) says

If he has a foreign ATP or foreign commercial with instrument rating issued by a contracting State to the Convention on International Civil Aviation and has no geographical limitations, he should be eligible to take the ATP practical. Right? Or am I missing something?

Tory

yes, thanks tory. but I don’t have a type rating here. I have it in my ICAO license. Can I apply?

I don’t see anything in the regs about type rating. Only foreign ATP or foreign commercial w/IR. Do you have either?

Seeing as you have a foreign ATP, 1st Class Medical, ATP CTP certificate of completion, and ATM written test completed, it sounds like you are eligible for an FAA ATP checkride.