ATP Program Review 11/2022-11/2023

Hi all,

My time with ATP recently ended and feel it may be beneficial for some to give a review of my experience in the program. Apologies for the massive wall of text this turned into, I just wanted to be thorough.

First, a brief explanation of what lead me to choose ATP to do my training with:

As a youth, I had long wanted to become an airline pilot, but when I graduated high school in 2005 I thought my need of glasses precluded me from doing so. Last year in August, after many years pursuing other areas of study and employment, I decided to again look into a career as an airline pilot. Turns out I had received bad info, and I did otherwise qualify for it. Being 35 years old at the time, I thought it best to find a place I could complete the training as quickly as possible. Of course, ATP came up when I searched, and after contacting them and asking all my questions I decided to go with them.

Private

Training began 11/7/2022. I came in zero time, having no recorded flight experience. I thoroughly enjoyed my instructor, who stuck with me through Instrument. We got along very well, and his instruction style generally jived with me perfectly. The instruction he gave was great, and the online Elevate classes were very helpful in preparing me for the written tests.

I very shortly, however, ran into plane availability issues. My first flight was canceled because we didn’t have a plane, and it quickly became a recurring thing. I’m sure this is not a new topic of discussion here, but I had never been made aware it was a possibility, other than weather. Coming in zero time, I didn’t know what all to expect and it caught me somewhat off guard.