ATP vs. Local Part 61 Flight School

Hello all,

I apologize in advance if this question has already been asked and answered. I am new to the group and am trying to get an understanding of ATP vs local flight schools.

I have been a private pilot since 2012 and have recently decided that I want to make this into a career. I am working on my Instrument rating and commercial rating concurrently.

With the position I am in, would it make more sense to work and pay for schooling as I go at a local part 61 flight school, or go through ATPs curriculum? I really like the idea of immersion training, but $70K is a lot to swallow. From what I can tell, it is either you sacrifice time or money…and I am not sure which route is the best way to go. It sounds like there are a lot of avenues into the regionals by going through ATPs curriculum versus a local part 61 school.

My main concern is making sure I get the appropriate training in the most cost and time effective time. Any experience or suggestions with this would be much appreciated.

Cheers!
Josh

Josh,

I respectfully disagree that it’s “either you sacrifice time or money”. $70k is ALOT of money but how much would it cost you to get your Commercial license (and the hour requirement), your IR, ME and all 3 CFIs? I’m sure you’re aware that flight training is never inexpensive and I have no doubt that maybe(?) you could possibly save a few dollars training locally but if you’re doing this based on the numbers you have to look at ALL the numbers.