Attributes of a good prospective pilot

Hi all,

On Adam’s posts, I noticed he uses the phrase “not everyone can or should be an airline pilot” often. This can be a vague question, but specifically, what type of people can’t or shouldn’t be a pilot? In case of myself, I perform best in an environment where there are set rules and procedures. I don’t derail from the procedures on the job and never had non-compliance issues. So, I believe I have basic attributes to start, but want to know what else are needed besides good study habits, good communication skills, and quick accurate decision making skills.

Kevin

Kevin,

The skills you mention are spot on. What I have seen is that somebody simply do not have the ability to be pilots, they lack the skills required to fly. An example might be that I have zero artistic ability. None. Doesn’t matter how hard I try or what kind of training I get, I am not an artist. It is important to recognize those kinds of issues very early in training to save the student money. This does not happen very often and usually is recognized early.

Chris

Don’t forget those that probably have perfectly good technical flying skills, but have no business interacting with the flying public!

Kevin,

I know these days everyone grows up thinking they can do “anything”. While that’s a wonderful, empowering sentiment, it simply isn’t so. You state things like “good study habits and good communication skills”, those are great but if the moment the wheels leave the ground you’re terrified or lose your lunch, that’s a problem. “Quick accurate decision making skills”? How do you know? Have you ever had to make a quick accurate decision after losing an engine or half your instruments? I once found myself in a somewhat hairy weather/fuel situation. The person I was flying with was rolled up in the corner looking for their wubby. They quit the next week.