Avaition Related Question

Good morning to airline pilots, my name is Frank DeBenedetti I’m a bit new to this website and I’m aspiring to become an gulfstream 650 pilot. I know this irrelevant, but just had a quick question, still a bit of a novice to this ATP life. Currently I’m a student in college working towards my bachelors degree. Now my degree will be in business not aviation, will that be okay? Last question is can I be an airline pilot then start flying gulfstream 650’s after I allocate enough hours with the airlines.

Frank,

Your degree doesn’t matter so long as you have one. As for the rest I’m going to assume you saw a picture of a G650 or read some article on it and thought it was cool. While many people fixate on flying a particular airplane I think you’ll find if you continue on this journey the actual airplane you fly will become less important in the grand scheme of things.

Questions like what if you found a great corporate gig flying a Global or a Falcon would you turn it down? Would you take a job flying a 650 that required you to be on call 24/7 or relocate? Would you do it for less pay? Work for a lousy demanding and disrespectful boss?

Trust me there are far greater considerations than flying a pretty airplane.

Adam

1 Like

Frank,

The airlines just want to see a four year degree and a decent GPA, they are not terribly concerned with what the major is.

I am with Adam on this, do not focus on trying to fly a specific airplane, they are all pretty darn cool. Focus on the career.

Chris

Frank,

One more thing to add is a G650 position can be very coveted. A lot of time the posted minimums for those jobs look attainable, but the reality is that there are a lot of pilots applying for the same job with far more experience than a newbie would have. You would have to essentially be friends with the owner to receive the offer over all of the other overqualified applicants.