Becoming an Airline Pilot with funky military history

Hello everyone!

I have a question about airline hiring.

I am 24 years old, currently hold a PPL with about 165 hours. I am interested in an ATP school and plan to enroll once I get my 1st class medical. I have an odd history I’m concerned about though.

I used to be in the Air Force, but I was only in for about 5 months (April 2019 to September 2019). I graduated basic training on time (June 2019), but during my technical training I had a medical concern which led me to being separated.

So when I was a child (around age 9) I was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder and was on medication but symptoms remitted and I came off the medication around age 12, no symptoms since. Fast forward to age 22 I start my process to join the Air Force. I told my recruiter all about this history, however I forgot to mention it when I went to MEPS. That night when I got back to my recruiter’s office, I told him about how I forgot to tell MEPS about it (I accidently answered '“No” to the question asking if I ever had a history of anxiety or depression), and he pretty much told me to not worry and that he would tell MEPS (turns out that never happened).

Fast forward to July 2019, I started to get really down on myself and was thinking that I made a very selfish decision to enlist after finding out my family back home was starting to struggle without me, as well as other new hardships I wasn’t aware of. Being an enlisted member, I couldn’t resign so I felt as though there was nothing I could do. So I sought out an on-base counselor to vent my frustrations and concerns. I eventually brought up that I was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder as a child, and then things started going downhill from there.