Best month to start training in New Jersey?

Hi,
I’m thinking about starting in MMU branch in January, but I was told by some to wait till early Spring to avoid the snow and everything. Is this true?If not, what happens when it heavily snows or when it gets freezing cold? Would the program takes longer due to delays?

Also, if I want to do the written tests before the training, as recommended by many, how many months in advance should I do that?

Thanks

Marwan,

I was an instructor in TTN. While Jersey obviously does get snow, it’s not Colorado and it’s rarely more than occasional. Further the airport authority is generally pretty good at clearing things quickly. When I instructed there it was over the winter (from Nov to April) and I think we maybe lost 2-3 days to snow. As for the cold the airplane heaters work great but they’ve got no air conditioning sooooo…

Now does that mean the winter of 21-22 couldn’t become the snowiest winter in history? Of course not but it also could be one of the driest and the Spring could bring massive winds that will just as easily ground you. Summer brings thunderstorms. What I’m saying is no one can predict the weather and while sure you could get some delays, if you wait you’ll definitely without question finish later.

As for the writtens that’s up to you. The thing to keep in mind is the writtens do expires after 24mos so I’d lock in a start date before I started taking them.

Adam

Marwan,

Check out the write ups on the written exams in the FAQ section. That should give you all of the information you need to know.

Tory

1 Like

Marwan,

Adam pretty much nailed it. I trained at TTN 2017-18 and have been to MMU a few times.

With the 7month program you should be good starting in Jan-March. Incase training gets delayed for any reason, you’ll be finishing up before next winter starts.