Building Hours Overseas

I’m an ACPP grad who was grandfathered into the ‘guaranteed’ flight instructor position. However, the wait for indoc is long, so I’ve been applying elsewhere in the meantime. I interviewed and was hired for a CFI position flying Diamond DA40 and DA42 NGs overseas. The pay and benefits are fantastic, the planes are brand new and well-equipped, and overall it seems like a really good gig with a reputable company.
I’m wondering what the cons of this approach may be. I know hours are hours, but concerned that being out of the FAA’s airspace for the entirety of my time-building may hurt my competitiveness once I approach ATP mins.
Anyone on here have any experience building time outside of the US or have an opinion on the matter? Will regional or corporate carriers care where the hours were accumulated? Wondering what other drawbacks I’m not thinking of.
Anyway, thanks to anyone who wants to offer up their opinion!
Kyle

Kyle,

First I applaud your resourcefulness. Most people wouldn’t think to look or even consider flying overseas so kudos. I’ve participated in hiring and though rare I have seen pilots with hours earned overseas and it’s never been a problem. I actually see it as a positive. It shows you’re resourceful and not afraid to apply your skills outside your comfort zone. It’s also likely to provoke some great questions and conversation during an interview which is how you gain favor.

I’d do it in a heartbeat.

Adam

Thanks for your input, Adam! I’m pretty excited about the opportunity and respect your opinion. Hope it all works out.

Kyle,
I agree. It wouldn’t be any different than pilots flying for airlines logging hours internationally. I think it shows more of your resourcefulness. Plus being able to teach oversees with potential language or cultural barriers is a good insight in your ability to work with others… translates to good crew resource management.

-Hannah

Hannah,
Hadn’t thought about the CRM angle…makes sense. Thanks!