Can I work full time and become part time private pilot?

Hi,

I am currently fully employed by a global business brand and make pretty good money for my age but am seeking something more.

I have a college degree but don’t have flight experience. I have signed up for intro to flying lesson this summer, but from the other forum posts it seems as though there haven’t been a lot of people seeking this part time so I was wondering if that is an option and any advice you may have.

Thanks in advance!

Kasey,

If your only goal is to fly recreationally and get your Private then sure you can train part time. There’s no rush if it’s just for fun. Just know training part-time and without consistency will take you considerably longer and cost you much more money than if you were to train full-time.

Adam

Adam,

That’s very helpful to know. Is there a typical rate or salary for part time? Wondering if the return on flight school investment makes sense in my current status.

Thanks!

Kasey,

I’m a little confused by your question? If your desire is to be a PRIVATE PILOT there is no rate or salary as PRIVATE PILOTS can only fly recreationally and cannot get paid to fly.

Unless you’re talking about becoming a COMMERCIAL PILOT and flying for a private owner or corporate? If that’s the case then again you could train part-time but to earn the required licenses and ratings it would take you years. As far as the salaries go for flying corporate or for a Private they can range considerably depending on the airplane and the owner. There are pilot’s making $50K flying piston twins to $500k flying G5s and Globals.

Adam

Okay, that makes sense. I misunderstood private vs. commercial, but your below clears that up for me.

Thank you!

Hi Adam,
also looking to work full time and start part time training.
Assuming M-F evening classes and weekends.
You say considerably longer and much more money… can you elaborate on that?

Cheers,
Tim

Timothy,