Can you join a major carrier if your flying experience is from another country

I am an airline pilot in India for 12 years now with around 7000 hours of which 3000 are as PIC on the 737 NG. I have a FAA CPL and a FAA 737 type rating. I do not have a FAA ATP. I am presently employed and current.

I may have to consider immigrating to the US because my fiancé is a US citizen and has her career there.

I wanted to know if any one could give me an insight on how I may have to restart my career if I do move there, which would be at the very least 2 years from now.

I do understand I have to get my FAA ATP. But apart from that what else should I expect. Would I have to start from scratch from a regional or as a first officer in a major airline. How would the climb up the seniority ladder be. Will my hours play any significant role in career progression.

All suggestions and opinions are appreciated.

Thanks
Vish

Vish,

First and foremost to fly for any US carrier you need to either be a US citizen or gain permanent resident status. Shouldn’t be a problem if you get married but it will take time and again you can’t get hired without it.

Since you have an FAA CPL you could easily get hired at a Regional and getting your ATP would be part of your newhire training. If you want to go straight to a Major you’d need to complete the ATP-CTP course and then get your ATP as that’s a requirement for all the US Majors. You don’t mention your education? If you don’t have the equivalent of a 4yr college degree the Majors won’t hire you. If you do you need to get that verified.