Concerns about a career change

Hi,

My name is Cody, and like most I’m very interested in a career change to an Airline Pilot. I currently work in IT, but honestly the IT industry doesn’t really interest me anymore. I got into aviation probably 4 years ago, decided to get my PPL in July-ish of 2020 and 6 months later earned my PPL. Unfortunately, life and finances have made it very difficult to fly very often since then, but I still very much want to be a pilot. I found out a few months ago that ATP opened a school nearby in Baton Rouge, LA which is convenient since my parents live nearby.

Additionally, recently I finally cleared the final obstacle to selling my house and potentially buying a new one (one of the life issues that’s kept me from flying). Interestingly the process has left me with a gap where I’ve sold my house and haven’t bought a new one yet, meaning all of the money that would be used as a down payment would be sitting in my account and would definitely be enough to pay for ATP.

I do have some concerns though. I guess the best way to describe my concerns are that I know this move is very high risk, but high reward. I would have to leave my job and live with my parents for an unknown about of time and live off of basically 0 income. If something happens and this doesn’t work out, it would put me in a real bind. Admittedly, my income isn’t as much as it probably should be for someone in my position, but it’s still more than nothing and probably more than I’d make as a CFI while I build time. My other big concern is what to do about my dog while I’m flying. She’s family to me, and I would never consider giving her up, but I’m not sure how I would be able to take care of her while being gone for multiple days at a time. I spoke with my parents about it, and while they would be supportive of whatever decision I make, they are also very concerned about the idea of me throwing my current career away for something that may not pan out.