Considering a career as a major airline pilot

Dear Mentors,

First of all, I want to thank you for answering all those questions in this forum. I really appreciate your valuable information. I would like to be a pilot and I have to start from zero. Below are some of the questions I have.

1. I am 38 years old and became a U.S. citizen a couple of years ago. I got my graduate degrees from a U.S. regionally accredited university and taught at a university for 5 years. Do I need to submit any test for English proficiency for flight training?

2. I had had myopia and astigmatism since I was in elementary school and just got a surgery to improve my vision. I am actually in the recovery period. My unofficial vision is 20/20 and hopefully it willI stay that way or get better. Unfortunately, the procedure I got, call, ReLEX, is not FDA approved. Is this going to prevent me from getting a 1st class medical certificate and ruin the chance of being a major airline pilot?

3. I want to be able to go and visit my family in Southeast Asia every once in a while. Ability to work for any major airlines in the world like FAA plus EASA conversion program is very interesting for me. With my age of 38 and goal to be a major airline pilot, how far do you think I can go assuming that I am not ruled out by my vision concern?

4. I realise that I am starting quite late for this career. I would like to be as quickly as possible to meet all requirements and at the same time keep my options open to any airlines. How should I plan for my training to achieve my goals more effectively and efficiently?

5. Do airlines tend to hire a multilingual pilot over one that speaks only English?

I hope you can help me with questions I have. Your answers will definitely benefit a lot more people as well. Thank you in advance for your kindness.

Best regards

1 Like

Hello Paul and Welcome!

Some interesting questions so lets dive right in.