Considering the leap- Training at KOWD

Hi all,

I am strongly considering taking the leap into a career in aviation; A little about me- I grew up flying with my family essentially my entire younger life and have had my PPL for about 2 years and have about 140 hours. I am 32 y/o, I have a degree and manage a small team in my current position and don’t necessarily dislike what I do. However, I am looking for something a bit more fulfilling, exciting, and a clear promotional path which aviation checks these boxes. Intimidating leaving a steady job with good benefits and starting over but I can’t imagine a better office view than at FL380.

I currently live in NH and the closest ATP school is KOWD, any feedback about attending the program there? A few questions;

• How were the instructors and culture?
  • Were the aircraft maintained properly?
  • How was training in the New England weather? (I think there are some benefits here training-wise rather than severe clear 360 days/yr)
  • Any setbacks?
  • How long did it take from start to finish? I assume I will likely start working on my instrument

Thanks in advance!

• Nate

Nate,

Hopefully someone who trained at KOWD will come in but I’ll start with some generic answers and things to keep in mind.

1. ATP instructors build their time then move on. That means there’s a good chance whichever instructors are there now (or were there) might not be when you arrive. Regardless ATP works very hard to guarantee all their locations have the same level of instruction and resources throughout their network.

2. Aircraft Maintenance Centers / ATP Flight School

3. Everywhere in the country has it’s weather challenges but I agree, the NE will provide good exposure and the opportunity for some actual IMC. There was a famous story of a new pilot at my old Regional who bugged out because he had never actually been in the soup during training. Not good.