Deciding whether to embark on the journey

Hi Everybody,

I’ve seen previous posts regarding this topic but I just wanted to get some opinion on my circumstance.

I took a discovery flight recently and fell in love with the flying experience. I am currently an Engineer and 30 years old, and would like to pursue a career in flying for a major airline.

My hesitation at this point, unfortunately, is that my driving record is riddled with negatives - I have a few suspensions, speeding offences and a DWAI on my record. It’s been around 6 years since my last conviction. It’s best at this point to transparent, honest and take responsibility for my actions up front before I move forward.

In this case, since there is a high monetary and time commitment to achieving the goal of flying for an airline - should I just stop pursuit of this goal to become an airline pilot? If I get my First Class Medical, and successfully complete school will I have a chance at getting a job for a major airline or will I be rejected due to my driving record? The last thing I would want is to make this investment and be rejected at the end of all of it.

Appreciate the insight and advice in Advance!
Charles

Charles,

First and foremost if you’re looking for guarantees aviation is not the career for you. Flying for a Major is the pinnacle of our vocation and frankly not everyone makes it for a variety of reasons.

The good news is the more time you put between yourself and your offenses the less weight they carry. What’s critical is that you continue to remain squeaky clean. If you can say that was then and I’ve changed that’s believable but if it continues its not.

Adam

Charles,

While your driving record is pretty bad, it does really help that there is significant time since your last conviction. That being said, you need to keep your record, to include your driving, criminal, and FAA record spotless moving forward. I think if you do this, you will likely be okay.