Does Seniority Equal Raise?

From my understanding the more hours you have the higher pay, correct?

With that understanding does that guarantee a raise every year I work? Since I’ll have more flight time and experience my second year at a regional than a first-year pilot would I automatically make more than that pilot? A.K.A could I expect to get a salary increase every year I work?

Raven,

Your understanding is incorrect. First we have to clarify what seniority means. Seniority is how long you’ve been at the airline and has absolutely nothing to do with flight hours. When I was an instructor at my airline I flew very little compared to other line pilots. So much so that after a few years pilots who were a few years behind me had more flight time. That however had ZERO to do with seniority. I was hired first so I’m senior. In fact to stress the point if I get hired the day before you (or are even one number senior to you in our newhire class) and right after we finish training I get hit by a bus and can’t fly for a year while you fly 1,000hrs I will still be senior to you. Make sense?

Now as for pay most airlines have yearly pay raises as negotiated by the union and they generally continue every year. Pilot contracts usually expire in 3-5yrs and rates are renegotiated. If times are good pay will go up but if things at the airline are not they could actually go down. Regardless the yearly raises are minimal and only a few dollars. Where pilots get their real pay bumps is when they either upgrade to Capt or move to a larger aircraft.

Adam

Raven,

Yes and no. Pay raises are tied to years of service with the company. Most airlines that I am aware of have a twelve year scale. After the twelfth year, the pilot is “topped out” and there are no more salary increases tied to years of service.

Pay raises are also negotiated by the union. Sometimes they happen, sometimes they don’t.

Chris