Does this plan make sense?

Hi all,

Long time reader, and I was hoping to get thoughts on this plan I have in my head surrounding logistics.

Quick Background

I’m a 32/yo who is fed up of the corporate world and looking to make a career pivot to a long-lasting passion of mine - becoming a commercial pilot. I’ve learned after a few years (7+) in the corporate world that it’s really built around a “what can you do for us” relationship with a lot of take and nothing fulfilling, entertaining, and life is too short to do anything you’re not happy with.

Challenge
For more background, I’m a Division 1 NCAA Referee for Women’s volleyball, and my season is typically through the fall (late Aug - mid Nov). From this side hustle, I can pull in anywhere from $15K-$20K alone. If I’m going to give up my current corporate salary (which is more than comfortable), the last thing I want to do during expensive training is give up that passive income.

My Plan
This is what I’d love some opinions on - gut check, poke holes in, etc.

To time things as best as I can to avoid any income during training, here’s what I’m thinking:

1. I probably won’t stay at my company beyond the end of the year regardless, but between now and say March, aggressively pursue my PPL full-time with a Part 61 school. This way I have a little more flexibility and can still pursue things aggressively since I won’t be working FT any more.

2. When wrapping that up, enroll in the ATP program from PPL acquisition forward for 5 months, hopefully wrapping that in August/September to mitigate impact to my referee career.

Questions

1. Does this plan make sense?
  2. Is there something I’m not thinking about?
  3. Am I over/under indexing in anything?
  4. Is it reasonable to assume maintaining something like my referee income alongside ATP is an absolute no go?

Would love any and all opinions!

Antonio,

A few things: