Experience Level of ATP Instructors

I’m a prospective student who just had my introductory training flight. Had a great experience and am seriously considering ATP but am doing my due diligence researching other schools in my area.

I’ve seen comments online about how all the instructors at ATP are young and just trying to get their hours up (as would I should I go to ATP). I realize most comments/reviews are negative in general for any industry as it takes time to write one, but my questions are: a) are there more experienced instructors at ATP who instruct for a living such as “head instructors;” and b) if not, is there any downside to having such young instructors with not much experience either with actual in-flight instructing or coursework on the ground.

I realize this is an ATP site but am hoping for some context to some negative reviews I have seen. I know that like most things in life you get what you put in, but I’m a bit concerned about not learning from more experienced pilots/instructors and if that would hurt me down the road. For some context I am mid-30s looking for a career change and am looking at the 7-month accelerated program, as my first flight not on a window seat was this week! Thanks for any context anyone can provide.

Blake,

First and foremost, when you’re the largest flight school in the country, training pilots for the airlines for over 35 years, with over 60 locations, hundreds of new aircraft and thousands of grads flying for every airline in the country, people will try and shoot you down. That’s not a commercial, it’s simply a fact.