Feeling Overwhelmed

Hello. I’m new to the forum. A little about myself; I’m 28 and live in NJ. I currently work in the railroad industry, and looking into becoming an airline pilot. I’ve always loved traveling, and this career can take you to some amazing places! I’m feeling kind of overwhelmed though. I had my 10th lesson toward my PPL today. I go to a small Part 61 school. Flying is quite a bit more difficult than I expected going in, and I’m not a “natural” at it unfortunately. I also feel very tired after my lessons. There is so much that has to be managed and coordinated at once. You also can’t focus on any one thing for too long, or you’ll miss something critical that’s going on. The requirements for an airline job still seem kind of daunting to me as well. The field is a tough barrier to entry. I guess it’ll start getting “easier” eventually once I have more experience flying.

1 Like

Matthew,

The mentors will chime in soon but as a private pilot I can only suggest you take it all in and make the safest decision for you. Unfortunately flying is not for everyone as you can get saturated with information at some point and you have to overcome it BUT if you have the drive and will and you study while not at the airport and take the time to keep at it you will get the hang of it.

Just remember flying is challenging as we are moving in a 3 dimensional world versus driving straight/back, left/right.

I know this wont make sense but it does get harder and it does get easier and what I mean by that is once you get the hang of everything it comes easier but flying single pilot is very tedious as you have everything going on and you no longer have an instructor with you helping you along the way. So maybe get a picture of you cockpit and go to staples to blow it up and chair fly as much as possible to try and overcome the challenges you have.

Matthew,