Financing beyond the school costs

Hi all,

I’m just starting to look into flight school, but am in the category of I’ve been working a career for the last 10 years and am looking to make the switch. I have a mortgage, wife, and 4 kids, and that is my biggest worry. For those who have made this similar switch, what did you do for paying normal bills, mortgage, groceries, etc…, while in flight school? That is my biggest hurdle right now.

I have great credit, so I’m not worried about getting the financing for the school itself, just need ideas on how to pay for life alongside it! Any thoughts and input would be great!

Jeff,

I (and many people with responsibilities) took out additional funds on my loan to cover living expenses during the length of my training. That and dipping into some savings while tightening the belt made it doable.

Adam

Jeff,

You can take out additional loans to help cover your expenses, but there is a limit to it. Your other option is simply to reduce your expenses, or get your wife to contribute more somehow.

Just to be sure, are you and your family fully prepared for the time commitment that is involved in flight training instructing, and being new at an airline?

Chris

Thanks Adam. We are accustomed to tightening the belt, just a little low on savings right now, so trying to figure out where to find the living expenses. I’ll look into increasing loans. Thanks!

Jeff

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the reply. I’ll look into increasing loans.

I’m actually in the military and have been deployed, so time commitment is one of the things that we are accustomed to! That, and being the new guy has never been an issue to me, I see it as the opportunity to learn from those more experienced.

Jeff

Jeff,
As an added side note, your GI Bill can pay for your examiner fees for checkrides BUT that money is reimbursed to you so you should probably schedule those fees into your loan calculations as well.
-Steve

Jeff,