Flex Track vs Fast Track

Hi All,

I am heavily considering switching from a Part 141 school to ATP with my instrument rating. The option to finish faster is just more reasonable for me as I have a previous degree and have had issues with my other flight school’s speed (not as fast as I would like). I am a working professional that is making a career switch young but still not wanting to waste time. That being said, I have switched to a part time job to support myself with a company that is very aware of the career transition I am making. My schedule allows me to have grounds/fly everyday as early as possible but I work Thursday-Sunday, early afternoon to night.

I am considering both the fast track and flex option, if it is available for ATP students beginning at the commercial stage, and the cost associated with it. I am still wanting to fly up to 7 days a week regardless of the track but I know that weather and aircraft/instructor availability are factors in the schedule as well. As I know the flex option is new, I am looking for guidance on:

1. Whether the fast track option would work with that current schedule (originally made to accommodate intensive flight training)

2. If the flex track option could be completed nearly as quick in timeline

3. If the additional cost to allow for some leg room is worth it (I am aware that ultimately the financial aspect is based on my situation, but looking for guidance from other students in their own experience)

Thank you all so much, I am very excited to continue training and look forward to hearing back!

Della,

Welcome to the forum. Like you, I got my private license at a small school. It was such a disaster that I switched to ATP for the rest of met ratings.