Flow-Through Program

Hi,

I was inquiring about the flow through program with American Airlines. Currently, I’m a college student. With the way covid has been going college seems less and less for me with each day. I saw that if I were to do the flow-through program with AA, I wouldn’t need a bachelors degree to fly for AA, and this is the only airline to do so. Can anyone testify to how correct this is?

Welcome to the forum, Sam!

From my understanding many of the major airlines have their own variation of a “flow-thru”. AAL has the cadet flow, UAL has Aviate, and Delta has their propel program(if you are currently employed by Delta). You can find more information on ATP’s and each individual airline’s websites.

I understand that the flow through program sounds appealing, but on the flip side many of them have major stipulations, flow in both directions, can get cancelled, and even worse (in my opinion) longer transition time to a major (not to mention that most of them are currently suspended). I’m sure that the mentors will elaborate on this more.

I believe the best thing about a flow is that you are “guaranteed” a first officer position at a major. It’s a great option to have in your back pocket. I personally would suggest to finish your education. It will benefit you greatly in the world of aviation.

-Steven

Sam,

Actually none of the regional airlines require a 4-yr degree. However, it is still in your best interest to obtain a 4-yr degree at some point before you apply to the majors. Even as COVID has pushed the higher education system to the online learning platform, you shouldn’t pass on earning your degree altogether. Even if you were enrolled in the AA cadet program without a degree, you’re really putting all of your eggs in one basket. I would encourage you to widen your possibilities for argument’s sake.