Frontier and Spirit Merging

Wow! :exploding_head:
Could this be challenged by the Justice Department, though?

Ben,

I’m not an expert in airline mergers, but I suppose it could? I’m not a betting man, but I think the DOJ would approve the merger.

Interestingly, this merger was predicted when T-Mobile and Sprint announced their merger in 2019. It was said that if the DOJ approved the T-Mobile/Sprint merger that it could pave the way for airlines to follow suit, and here we are.

Still, in comparison, becoming the 5th largest airline in the US, while not nothing, the top 4 are giants compared to Frontier, Spirit, Alaska, JetBlue, Hawaiian, etc.

Tory

1 Like

Ben,

They’re simply merging 2 very similar products. I don’t see the feds having a problem.

Adam

1 Like

How does seniority work when merging? Assume there’ll be several disgruntled pilots who may have been extremely senior at spirirt now find themselves middle of the road at frontier?

Josh,

Fortunately both pilot groups are in the same union (ALPA) which makes it easier (but seldom perfect). They’ll most likely go with date of hire (with some tweeking). Inevitably there will be some unhappy pilots but for the most part it’s usually pretty fair and often better for all due to the availability of more bases and size means more stability.

Adam

1 Like

I am no Justice Department lawyer, but I do not see this being challenged by anybody. The two airlines have different route maps and this will likely not have a huge affect on competition.

Merging the seniority lists will be interesting, but as Adam said, date of hire will most likely be the basis for it.

Chris

I wonder if this will affect ATP’s Frontier Direct program

1 Like

I hope not. :eyes:

Ben

Not sure if it was related to the merger, but yesterday midday nearly the entire fleet was on the ground at the same time with 20% flights cancelled and another 30% delayed due to a technology problem….
-Hannah