GPA & Bachelor's Degree

Hello all,

I have recently decided that I want to enroll in flight school to realize my dream of becoming a pilot. Before that, I have been going to college for Computer Science and, to say the least, have not earned stellar grades. My current GPA is around a 2.3 with more than 80 credit hours completed – I believed at first to have a passion for programming but I have realized that’s not the case, hence my grades. Furthermore, I have not finished my degree, and while I have the opportunity to finish, I would really like to get involved with flight school as soon as possible.

My question to you is, what are my chances to get a career in this field with my GPA as low as it is? I’ve heard that graduating ATP is no walk in the park, and I am prepared to give it my all, as this is something I know I want to do. I have also heard that a career with the Majors (my ultimate goal) requires a bachelor’s degree, is this true? If so, I reckon that finishing my degree is a required first step before even thinking about a job with the Majors. This would also give me an opportunity to raise my GPA in preparation for what lies ahead. But like I said, computer science is not my passion and I would like to start flight training as soon as possible.

To reiterate, what are my chances like getting a career in this field with my current 2.3 GPA, and do I need a bachelor’s degree to succeed?

Thank you all,
Matt

Matthew,

Yes, you need a degree. See the FAQ section.

Airlines aren’t taking GPAs into account right now. They haven’t been for several years. The regionals will hire anyone with the ratings and the hours. With your GPA as it is, if you established yourself well enough at a regional, I see no reason for you to not get hired at a major.

Tory

Matt,