High School/College Requirement And Other Advice?

Hello!

I’m Luke, a 17 year old junior in high school from the Dallas, TX area.

I have my heart set on being an airline pilot, preferably for Southwest but I’ll take whatever will allow me to fly (and being paid well enough to live).

I’d like to attend ATP at one of the three Dallas area locations. However, I’m wondering what kind of education I need to be an airline pilot.

A few things to know:

1. I will not be going to college for a number of reasons that are an entire other conversation.

2. I won’t be taking physics, chemistry, trigonometry, or calculus classes, however, I would like to learn physics separately from school, where it would not count against me if I take a little extra time.

3. Flight experience: I am a cadet officer in Civil Air Patrol and I have some experience flying small, single-engine aircraft (Cessna 172, Cessna 182, and GA-8). I also like to fly regularly on Infinite Flight with as realistic procedures as I can.

Basically, with all that information, my question is:

Will a high school diploma be good enough to get a job as a pilot? I don’t want to hear about college; I know airlines “prefer” it, but I’m not wasting my time/money. I’ll do almost whatever else will make up for it.

Also, do I need to take any specific classes in high school? I have pretty solid basic math skills (no geometry, trig, etc though) and will be learning physics separately from school if I can.

Lastly, any other tips that you have for my aviation career are totally welcome!

Thank y’all for your time!

Luke,

Interesting post so let’s not dilly dally and get you answers.

1. you can absolutely be a Regional pilot with just a HS diploma. Beyond that it’s hit or miss if you will progress beyond the Regionals and some LCCs. At least for now you will not be flying for SWA.

2. No need to study anything in HS beyond the usual requisite courses.