High School Senior - College/Financial Problems

Hello, I am a 17 year old senior from New Jersey getting ready to choose where to go to college. I have been accepted to the flight program at Embry Riddle in Daytona Beach but I have received little financial aid and as of now I don’t know how I will be able to afford it. I have also been accepted into engineering programs at numerous other schools such as Rutgers and FAU where I will most likely major in mechanical engineering, but also doing flight training off campus. As of now I have no flight experience and I was wondering what would be my best option financially as to making my way towards earning my commercial license? I have been looking through numerous scholarships but the bigger ones are more competitive and I’m not sure how much money I will get from the ones I applied to. I have also been looking into ROTC but as of right now I don’t have the GPA(2.8) to get a scholarship from them so I would have to bring it up my first year of college and then apply over the summer. If anyone has any tips or different programs they could recommend to me it would be a huge help. Thank you!

Lucas,

None of us are huge fans of aviation programs. As you’ve discovered they’re usually VERY expensive and offer little backup should aviation not work out.

Since you say you have no flight experience your first priority should be to get some. While many people believe they’d like to fly professionally, until you actually go up in a small plane and experience what will be your workplace for the first couple of years. There are dozens of flight schools in NJ including 2 ATP locations. I recommend you set up and intro flight before you do anything else to see if you’re wasting your time and energy on something you really don’t enjoy.

Finally as far as training goes you’d be best served finishing your education and then doing your flight training full time. This is the most efficient and cost effective route there is.

Adam

Adam,