Real Answers from Real Pilots

How do locations like Minnesota or Michigan compare to others as far as weather delays?

I’ve been reading a LOT of this forum and others the past couple weeks as I dig into my research, and I’ve seen a couple of horror stories such a student whose training took 16 months to complete due to constant weather delays in the PNW. Obviously ATP wouldn’t put a school in a location where it’s impossible to fly half the time, but I was wondering if anyone can chime in with some info on this, especially since I’m considering the Detroit location as one of my options. Unfortunately, because I’m a teacher, when I leave my current career it would already be summer/early autumn before I’d be able to start ATP, meaning if Detroit were my spot, I’d be hitting a rough time of year for flying pretty soon into my training.

Logan,

I’m not sure i recall a 16mos timeline for any student solely based on weather (thinking there were other factors?) but obviously weather can affect your training. Thing is most parts of the country get some adverse weather (it’s cold and wet in Seattle, the gulf states get major storms in the summer, etc). As you point out the reality is ATP would not set up the program where the weather was consistently an issue. It’s up to you to weigh the possibility of a delay with the other factors you’d encounter by moving to another location, keeping in mind again any area of the country can suffer.

Your call.

Adam

Logan,