How to get MCO as domicile?

Hello all,
I am a military pilot in my first steps toward finding a civilian job and I’d love some advice: For context, I have ~1250TT but I have not flown in several years, and my highest cert is a commercial lic.

My only long term goal is to eventually get to MCO as a home base.

So I’m looking for the path to get there. Spirit, Southwest, and Allegiant all have bases there, but I realize I’ll need to start in a regional first… GoJet has a “pathway program” to Spirit after 2 years which seems like a attractive option, but I don’t know what other choices there are; and I’m willing to accept any job or pay scale in order to get there.

Can anyone tell me if its even realistic to hope to live and work at MCO within a few years of starting at a regional?

Dan,

Welcome to the forum. Spirit and Allegiant will probably be easer to get to than Southwest. Southwest is one of the premier airlines in the country to fly for and they are very selective in who they hire. They will want to see a significant amount of recent jet time and perhaps even Captain jet time. It could take you several years, if ever, to get to Southwest.

I would caution you against boxing yourself into such a small corner. Airlines sometimes close bases, even bigger ones like MCO. I once worked for an airline that had closed IAD, DEN and LAX, at the time unthinkable closures. IF you did manage to get to SWA, and they then closed MCO, what would you do then?

Just something to think about.

Chris

1 Like

Dan,

First off don’t forget Frontier and JetBlue. As I understand it MCO is generally a senior base for most airlines. Can you get there? Sure but it might take a while. How long is really anyone’s guess. This industry is constantly changing and evolving based on any number of factors.

Your best bet is build the rest of your time. Get on with a Regional and then assess who’s got the best chance of you getting your MCO when it’s closer to being a reality.

Adam

Dan,