Real Answers from Real Pilots

I hope I haven't shot myself in the foot

So, I’m a new ATP student in my 2nd week. I had 1 flight cancelled last week due to a thunderstorm and then again today one was cancelled due to high winds. I trust my CFI’s judgement when it comes to these cancellations, and to be frank I don’t feel comfortable attempting landings with 20+ mph gusts. Long story short, before I knew my flight was cancelled for the day my CFI asked if I’d be willing to move my 0730 flight tomorrow morning to later in the day because another student had to go to work and needed to fly at that time. Originally, I was okay with it, but after thinking and looking at the TAF for tomorrow, I noticed that some winds are likely to be moving in tomorrow around the time my new flight time was scheduled to be. Also, I remembered that I am the one that chose to not work so I can be available at all times to fly, and the other guy is able to keep working and just have students and instructors adjust their schedule according to his work. If I had known this was the case, I wouldn’t have quit my job. I let my CFI know that I’m not concerned with accommodating someone else’s schedule given the amount I’m spending and I’d rather come in at my normal time to avoid another cancellation due to weather. I did it in a very polite and respectful manner, but I’m just very worried that this will change his opinion of me and possibly not be as willing to help. I conducted myself in the most professional way possible, I just cannot bring myself to sacrifice my own flight time for someone else because they need to go to work. Am I wrong, and should I be concerned about my instructor’s opinion of me? Thanks everyone.

I do not see anything to worry about here. You are a customer as well and have your own concerns to worry about. Just keep it respectful, which it sounds like you did.

Jordan,