I want to fly in the 'worst places'... how do I get there?

As a kid I started training for my PPL with a private instructor (just as a hobby), but I also had just started a business and really didn’t have the time… so I back-burnered it, albeit after soloing on my 8th hour.

Now I wanna fly Pilatus PC-6 Turbo Porters to janky 400m airstrips in the mountains of Papua New Guinea, or something/somewhere/somehow similarly ‘exciting’. This right here [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fLTIagVznQ] is entitled the ‘Worst Place To be a Pilot’, but it looks like heaven to me!

I see that Susi Air is still looking for PC-6 pilots. They’re now asking for 1000 hours PIC though.

What would be the best way to scout out other such hair-raising opportunities, and what’s the best way for me to go about landing such a job?

I’m guessing that if I had my instructor certs that might help make up for a lack of hours… especially since even thousands of hours in calm weather on autopilot, at least in my mind, don’t equate to jack in light of such high-risk rudder’n’stick flying as is required in the jungles of PNG.

• Should I go for instructor certs to prove my aptitude? (CFI, CFII, MEI…)
  • Or for attaining experience in as many different types of planes as possible? (tail draggers, STOLs, floatplanes, sailplanes, helicopters…)
  • Or maybe fly in as many ‘wild’ regions as possible? (Australia, South Africa, Alaska…)
  • Or just do whatever to get my hours up over 500? (soaring, flight instructing, pleasure cruising…)

I’m currently studying a masters degree online, part-time, so that eats up about 3 hours of my day (~21 hours/week)… but I’m otherwise free to throw myself at this endeavor. And I already have ample expat experience and no dependents, so I don’t mind packing a bag with the essentials and relocating for months or years to pretty much anywhere.

Any advice for how I can make this happen?

Thanks,

a 31yo American with no interest in flying jumbo jets

1 Like

Zach,