In need of some guidance

Hello all!

My name is Clayton. First of all I would like to thank everyone in advance for answering my questions, and for being such an amazing resource for help, guidance, realistic expectations, and information! Let me give you a run down of where I’m at and the questions and concerns I have.

I’m currently 21 years old, and am living on my own. After graduating high school I went to college where I studied to be a music education major, but was forced to leave because of things that had happened between me and my family. I no longer had a way to finance my education, and I wasn’t able to return the following semester.

That was three years ago, and like I said I’ve since been on my own paying off my loans and such. I’ve been absolutely miserable living paycheck to paycheck, and just hating my job. I’m ready to go back to school, and I’ve payed off the loans I had taken out to finish my last semester there. The question I’ve recently faced was do I really want to go back to where I left off. The answer is no. I love music and it’s a great passion of mine, but I don’t think it’s what I want to be doing for the rest of my life. That’s when it hit me: Look into becoming a pilot! I’ve always loved aviation, and one of my earliest and fondest memories was being taken into the cockpit of a commercial jet before takeoff by the captain and first office because they had learned it was my first time flying. Lately all I can do is think about flying and becoming a pilot. Looking back on it I’ve always had the urge to fly, but never really thought about it as a career until now.