Intro and Some Questions

Hello all,

My name is Jake and I’ve been stalking this site for a couple years, and I think it’s finally time to ask some questions. I’m 34 (not too old!) with some GA experience. I have a wife who’s a high school teacher, and 2 kids, 4 and 6 years old. Growing up, I flew with my great aunt who was a CFI with a C152, and I’ve flown a Bonanza, a Baron, and I’ve taken an intro flight locally in a C172. I live in New Mexico, far away from any professional flight schools. There is a strong GA community here, and a great school for PPL, but I’d have to move to get to an ATP location.

My employer paid for my master’s degree and has me in golden handcuffs for a little more than a year from now. My plan was to start my PPL at the local school next year to be sure that I really want to take the leap, and work on moving to either the Denver area to be close to family support or Texas for higher teacher’s pay and lower cost of living. I know that the sooner I start ATP the better my future potential is, but that has to be weighed against owing $18,000 for a master’s degree if I leave my job too soon.

My plan was to start as soon as I can while my kids are still young, then get into a regional and stay as a regional captain until they are out of high school. This way, I can have enough seniority to enjoy most of the important kid things (games, recitals, etc.). Is this a good plan? How long does it take to get seniority as a narrowbody FO at a major? Would the timing of that work out just as well as being a senior captain at a regional?

Another question: after graduating from ATP and waiting for a CFI slot, can you work as a CFI for a different school in the area? The airports I’m looking at have several flight schools, so I was just wondering if ATP would care if graduates worked at other schools temporarily.

Thanks,
Jake

Jake,