Is it too late for 49yo to start flight school with 0 hour and major captain as the end goal?

Dear all kindly,
I need help with some information about pilot career. I’m a 49yo male with 0 hour flight time. I will be on my 4th career if I pull the trigger for this one. Currently, Im a travel Operating Room Nurse (RN-BSN), been a nurse for over 10 years . Financially, I am making a good money, but nursing is not my dream job. I want to fly an airplane for the airlines since I was a little, but the life brought me into different routes. I have taken my first class medical exam and passed. I already approved for the student loan for the flight school. I have talked and looked at ATP and Aeroguard in Phoenix. I planed to do a fast track program.
My questions are, how long would it take for me to get into a major airlines as a Captain? What steps would you suggest to take to achieve it the earliest??Remember, Im probably the oldest one to start this career.
I really highly appreciate your advices.
Sincerely,
Erick

3 Likes

Hi Erick,

I’m in a very similar boat. Currently a School Nurse (BSN-RN) and have bene a nurse for 6 years. Like you nursing isn’t my first career or my dream job. All I’ve wanted to do was fly but was always told that I couldn’t for a large variety of reasons (eyesight, age etc.). I’m 43 now and hoping to start training after the current school year (though very tempted to start sooner…) I’m looking at ATP in the Denver area with one of the fast track programs as well.

Best of luck to you.

Russ

Erick,

First and foremost becoming a Capt for a Major airline is the pinnacle of our career and there is absolutely zero guarantee that any pilot will achieve this goal, regardless of age. You also don’t mention whether or not you have a degree which would further complicate things.