Is this a decent plan or reckless?

Hello again,

I am really thinking hard about switching careers. I think I have a decent plan for making it happen and my wife is on board but some of my friends think the plan is way too risky. If you have a minute, I could use a fresh set of eyes to make sure I am not just blinded by the prospect of it all and that I am actually following a good plan. Thanks.

I am 25 years old, married, and have our first child on the way. I am a police officer in a medium sized city and have been on for 4 years. I make very respectable(for our area and field) $70k which will likely top out at around 90k with a few promotions and 25 years on. The job offers good benefits and pension too, BUT…I don’t really like it anymore. I’ll bet you can correctly assume the downsides, they all have to do with dealing with the worst people and the most messed up situations you can think of and I find my self coming home upset, angry, or dejected at night pretty regularly lately, on top of being just completely wiped almost every night . I just have a hard time seeing how the very occasional exciting incident and moderate satisfaction of catching a bad guy could make this doable for the next 30 years.

As a kid, I wanted to fly but assumed it was only for Active duty military types and I decided against active duty although I did do the National Guard after high school (not flying).