Job Placement - Degree Earned

All,

I am seriously considering ATP - I have wanted to be a pilot since I can remember.

No More excuses. My New Years resolution is determining if this is a career move of choice.

Here are my challenge questions:

If I choose ATP - and associate with Embry Riddle for their associates/bachelors online degree, what does a calendar look like for the year? Holidays, weekends… etc? I think that adding another degree is the way to go… do you encourage this or think this is just over-loading and too expensive? Does this assist with ROI after completion of flight training?

The residences provided… are they pet friendly, and are they shared bedrooms or apartment spaces? I can’t say that I am excited about the idea of a dorm like living situation, and thus would cause me to explore other options (adding to cost of room and board.)

I have a Masters Degree in business - does this in anyway help me with advancing in a career after flight school with the Majors?

Thanks all. Appreciate the open forum dialogue.

Hello Jordan,

I don’t know where you got this idea of needing another degree from. If you
have an MBA, you’re set. It is not required for you to obtain an additional
degree unless you really want to, but don’t do it while in flight training.
At least, wait until you’ve made it to a regional. To answer your question,
a degree is a degree. You could have picked anything. The majors just want
to see a 4 year degree so that they know that you’re teachable and follow
through on your commitments.

That said, I do not see any benefit of attending any aviation college vs
attending an accelerated flight training program, like ATP. Aviation
colleges are absurdly expensive and the end result is the same either way.
You’ll have the same ratings and hours (+/-). To an airline your
application would look identical. Just because one applicantion says “Embry
Riddle” it doesn’t give that applicant a better chance.