Language affects chance for job?

Dear,

I am about to graduate from college as Mechanical Engineering degree. I really want to become a pilot to explore the world. However, I have some concerns.

1. Should I work as an engineer for couple years to save money and pay for ATP at once so that I won’t need to worry about the loan and debt in the future. And because if I go directly to flight school, I still have some regret on my degree since I spent 4 years for it and don’t use it for 1 day.
  2. English is not my first language, all my English skills are from 4 years in college. I listened to some conversation between pilot and controller and had no ideas what they were talking about. They speak too fast and unclear. Some people said that I don’t need to worry about it because I will be trained and get used to it. Is it true? I am afraid it will limit me to get a job at an airline. I am U.S. citizen.

Thank you.

Francis,

Welcome to the forums! How you chose to finance your flight training is certainly up to you. Saving money to pay for your school outright is by no means a bad idea, but it will cost you several years of seniority which could later end up having a huge affect on your career. I personally would not waste any time, I would go right into flight school after completing my degree if I were you. I have a business degree that I have never used and I do not have one bit of regret about it as it enabled me to get a job at the major airlines, which your degree will do as well.