Life choices

I’ve always wanted to be a pilot since I was a sophomore in high school. I wanted to graduate College before I did flight school, which I have done (2018). When I graduated, I found that the location in STL closed.
Fast forward 3years, and I’m married with 2 kids (#3 due in January). At the age of 26 I still am obsessed with becoming a pilot and having a long career in aviation.

I recently discovered that SUS is opening and MKC has an ATP school. I have a friend ghat lives about 15 mins from MKC, but I’m struggling with being away from my wife and kids for 7 months and missing so much. So my questions are…

1. how did you KNOW aviation was the route for you?
  2. how do you handle being away from your loved ones for that long (wife owns a daycare and can’t move to KC with me)

Aron,

These are of course personal decisions only you can make and each individual is unique. That said here’s my take:

1. This was fairly simple for me. At some point I determined that I needed to do something I really enjoy and get paid for it to be happy. The 2 most consistent interests for me were aviation and music. I wasn’t that talented a musician but I had gotten my Private Pilot license and not only did I enjoy it, I was pretty good at it too so I took the leap.

2. That was a little tougher. I had 3 young children at home and wrestled with being selfish. First I concluded it would be better for my children to be without a miserable dad for a few months, than be stuck with a miserable dad forever. Second (and this may sound a little corny) but I thought about my dad and grandfather. My father was away from us for 4yrs in the military and I wasn’t too messed up, and my immigrant grandfather came to America by himself for many years, leaving his family to make a better life and future for them. Me being away for a few months was by comparison a very minor abandonment.

Adam

3 Likes

Adam,