Making it to the majors with a criminal record... is my situation possible?

Hey guys, my name is Alec I’m 24 and am seriously considering becoming a commercial airline pilot. My dad flys international for delta so this has always been on my radar… after 2 years in sales I have come to the realization it isn’t for me and I’m ready to begin a new career.

The issue, when I was 18 I received a misdemeanor for petty theft and when I was 22 I received a misdemeanor for domestic battery. I have a few speeding tickets as well… I could explain the stories but I understand it doesn’t make a difference. I take 100% responsibility for what happened and my record will be squeaky clean here on out.

I have a 4 year degree in finance from a major university 3.2 GPA & will do whatever extra steps possible to make my resume look better.

Before I spend 40k to get my CFI I was wondering if I still have a shot to fly majors? If I have a shot does it come down to my ability to interview or is this not in my hands? Thanks for your input!

Alec,

A couple of things. First I’m curious what you’re father says on the subject? If he’s a Delta pilot he should be able to have this conversation with his people in recruitment and get their take.

Now you say you “will do whatever extra steps possible” but you’ve got 2 arrests and a mediocre GPA. I’d stop thinking about “extra steps” and start focusing on the basics. Working hard and staying out of trouble.

Now the answer to your question is maybe? If you keep your nose clean, do better in training than you did in college and conduct yourself as a professional you could have a shot. If however when you interview at a Regional one of the pilots on the panel has a daughter was just the victim of domestic battery, you’re sunk and won’t even get there.