Real Answers from Real Pilots

Meet me at age 30, third career, an introduction

Hello all, I hope all is well this week.

I’ve been meaning to get active here, and with the day off I figured now was as good a time as any.

A bit about me, I’ve been told my story may interests someone in the future:
I started at KTTN (Trenton, NJ) on September 13 in the 100 hour multi (credit private). I earned my Private Pilot Certificate ASEL in Arizona shortly before coming back to the East Coast. I came with just about 300 hours total time, and that’s the story.

As I’m sure many of us did, I started my passion for aviation young, it’s really some of the first memories I have. That passion drove me to seek an appointment to the United States Naval Academy, where I graduated a Marine Officer with a flight contract in 2013. Shortly after married my wife, who I met there and traveled to Virginia for The Basic School. In early 2014 I moved to Pensacola and started Military flight training. I flew the T-6B Texan II for about 90 hours and was selected to move on to jets. I moved to Texas and and continued training in the T-45C Goshawk for about 210 hours.

While I absolutely loved the flying, and was living my dream, I was concerned about a few things surrounding family commitments, maintenance, and force readiness at the time. And after nearly 2 years of separation from my wife (who had moved to Arizona for the Marines), I decided to put my family first and left the flight program in my last week of training, after having done some very cool things out there.

In 2016 I stopped flying and left the Marine Corps the next year. I had some very strong feelings at the time, and it’s hard to describe the lack of motivation to get flying again. I had an opportunity to complete my Private Pilot Certificate and Instrument rating for about $2,500 (really a steal at the time) but never did.